Auqib Mir stars as Bijbehara Sports lift JKPL Anantnag title

By: Dr Riyaz Veeri

HPL: Shahrukh Dar’s fifer takes home Ali Jana CC
RCC Tourney Bandipora: HK Cements Reds register another win
BCCI CoA Status Report: JKCA termed as substantially compliant on Lodha reforms

Bijbehara Sports Club lifted the Jammu & Kashmir Premier League-Anantnag (JKPL 40 Over) Tournament title defeating Shams ul Haq Bijbehara in the final by 35 runs played at Govt. Degree College Boys Anantnag ground.jkpl anatnag

In the begining of the match, toss was won by Bijbehara Sports and elected to bat first.  Batting first Bijbehara Sports could manage to score a total of 113 runs on the board, in which Ulfat was the highest scorer with 30 runs and Shakeel with 18 runs. From Shams ul Haq, Taizeem was the most successful bowler, who took 3 wkts, besides him Yasir and Suhail took two wickets each.

While chasing the target of 114 runs in 40 overs, Shams Ul Haq lost its 5 important wickets on the score of 14 runs, including the wicket of skipper Mohsin Mufti. From Bijbehara Sports Club, Asif Rasool and Ishfaq Bhat bowled superbly in the first spell and sent 5 important batsman back to pavilion on the score of 14. Later on, Hilal gave some relief to Shams Ul Haq team through his sensible knock. But could not servive long and became the victim of Sajad Alaie on the score of 27. Finally Shams Ul Haq got all out on the score of 78 and thus Bijbehara Sports won the match by 35 runs and became the champion of JKPL 40 Over Tournament Anantnag.

Asif Rasool and Sajad Aliae from Bijbehara Sports took 3 wkts each in the bowling department.

The DDC Anantnag Mohammad Younus Malik was the chief guest along with the other guests including: Principal GDC Boys Anantnag Prof. (Dr) Bashir Ahmad Rather, ADC Anantnag Showkat Ahamd, Manzoor Ahmad Wani Chairman DCF Anantnag, S.S.P Anantnag, Secretary DCF, Treasurer DCF, Joint Secretary DCF and other dignitaries from the sports fraternity were also present on the occasion, who gave away the trophies and awards to both teams, players and officials of the tournament. Sajad Alaie from Bijbehara Sports was given Man of the match award, Aaqib Mir from Bijbehara Sports was given man of the Tournament award, Riyaz from Tiger Sports was given as Best Bowler of tournament award, Mohsin Mufti from Shams ul Haq was given best Batsman award, Gowher from Karshangam Sports was given best allrounder as well as emerging player of the tournament award. Besides them, there were several appreciation awards given to officials and organizers of the tournament for their hard work and service. The tournament was organized by District Cricket Forum Anantnag under the aegis of J&K Cricket Association. The tournament was played at 5 different venues of the district including Sports Stadium Anantnag, GHSS Bijbehara, Sports Stadium Mattan, Sports Stadium Nanil, Sports Stadium Seer Hamdan and lastly the Gand Finale was played at Govt. Degree College Boys Anantnag Ground. The tournament witnessed a huge participation from the district. A total of 130 Cricket clubs of Anantnag district participated in the tournament with great fervour and zeal.