Former cricketers slam ICC Boundary rule that help England win World Cup

KSW Monitoring Desk

Coronavirus:After 14 day self isolation in USA hotel,Shakib al Hasan joins wife,daughter at home
Bazim takes 5 wkt haul as Green Valley beat SSM in U-14 match
My career was in danger: Mohammad Amir on Test retirement
England win World Cup . Pic ICC Twitter

The number of former cricketers and legends of the game have out openly slamming International Cricket Council for the ridiculous rule that helped England win World Cup 2019 beating New Zealand on the basis of superior boundary rule after both teams were tied in allotted overs as well as in super over.

England were declared winners despite neither of the teams losing and neither of the teams wining. Instead of sharing trophy as pre decided winner was decided through superior boundary rule in which England had hit more boundaries.

For a match which might go down as the best ODI in history, the end, which was determined by the number of boundaries hit, did not sit down too well with a number of former cricketers who asked the ICC to contemplate and come with a better way to decide winners in such scenarios.

Former New Zealand all-rounder Scott Styris was not as politically correct with his Tweet and even called the ICC a joke.

Yuvraj Singh, who has recently stepped away from the game, too questioned the ruled, but also congratulated the England cricket team.

“I don’t agree with that rule ! But rules are rules congratulations to England on finally winning the World Cup , my heart goes out for the kiwis they fought till the end 😥. Great game an epic final !!!!”

Brett Lee too was not satisfied with the way the match was decided. “Congratulations to England! Commiserations New Zealand. I’ve got to say that it’s a horrible way to decide the winner. This rule has to change,” Lee wrote.

Former Indian captain Gautam Gambhir in a Tweet said: “Don’t understand how the game of such proportions, the #CWC19Final, is finally decided on who scored the most boundaries. A ridiculous rule @ICC. Should have been a tie. I want to congratulate both @BLACKCAPS & @englandcricket on playing out a nail biting Final. Both winners imo.”