Indian domestic cricket season to start with T20 tourney from November 19: Report

KSW Web Desk

Never offered to host IPL-2020: New Zealand Cricket
No cricket in India in near future: BCCI President
Asia Cup 2020 cancelled, claims Sourav Ganguly
J&K celebrating a wicket (File Pic)

Srinagar, August 09: The Indian domestic cricket season will begin with Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy from November 19, a report in ESPNCricinfo said on Sunday.

As it was earlier known that Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is trying to chalk out a plan for this Covid-hit cricket season, they have finally proposed one with T20 tournament going to start from mid-November.

However, 50-over tourney, Vijay Hazare Trophy, is likely to be cancelled while Ranji Trophy is tentatively scheduled to go ahead from December 13.

The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will begin 10 days after the upcoming Indian Premier League, meaning players will get an opportunity to impress IPL franchises ahead of the next auction.

Meanwhile, insted of the predicted zonal level structure, BCCI has decided to stick with group system. Depending on previous performances, the teams will be distributed in 5 groups in Syed Mushtaq Ali tourney while as in 6 groups in the Ranji Trophy.

Age-level cricket

As far as junior cricket js concerned, the Col CK Nayudu U-23 Trophy is expected to be played from December 15 to March 09, Cooch Behar Trophy (U-19) from November 01 to January 22, 2021, and Vijay Merchant Trophy (U-16) November 01 to January 07, 2021.