IPL XI: Anil Kumble leaves out this current Team India star

KSW Desk

MS Dhoni won’t play for India again, believes Harbhajan Singh
Hardworking,determined Fawad Alam example for youngsters,says Azhar Ali
When I first met MS Dhoni, he said Imran bhai, you are welcome in my room anytime: Imran Tahir
File pic of former Team India coach Anil Kumble.

Ahead of the much hyped Indian Premier League 2019 final between Mumbai Indian’s and Chennai Super Kings, the former cricketers are picking out there team of the IPL 2019.

The Former Team India coach Anil Kumble has also picked his IPL XI. In his IPL XI Kumble has surprisingly left out Team India’s biggest star.

The former leg-spinner has left out RCB captain Virat Kohli from his IPL XI and in his place has included Delhi Capitals skipper Shreyas Iyer.

It may be shock for some but Kumble justifies his decision based on the form and performance in current edition of IPL.

“Iyer is young and has done really well. He has batted in difficult conditions. The Delhi pitch hasn’t been great but he’s led from the front,” said Kumble in a video for CricketNext.

Iyer has scored 463 runs in 16 matches at a strike rate of 119.94.

Kumble’s side has been picked only on the basis of performances till the group stage of IPL.

The openers in Kumble’s team are David Warner and KL Rahul.

“Warner has been instrumental behind SRH securing (playoff) qualification. He has been destructive at the top along with Jonny Bairstow… Was very tempted to keep Bairstow but because of the balance of the side I couldn’t pick him,” Kumble said.

Warner is still the leading run-scorer of IPL with 692 runs despite leaving for Australia’s World Cup camp after playing just 12 matches for SRH. He is followed by KL Rahul, who has 521 runs to his name in 14 matches.

Kumble opted for Rishabh Pant in the middle order. He picked MS Dhoni as the skipper and wicket-keeper of his side. Dhoni has returned as the highest run-scorer for CSK this season and has led the Yellow Brigade to a record 8th IPL final.

The all-rounders in his side are Andre Russell and Hardik Pandya. Both Pandya and Russell have won matches single handedly for Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders respectively. Russell has scored 510 runs at a staggering strike rate of 204.81. Pandya is not far behind, scoring at a strike rate of 193.

“Russell and Pandya have redefined how T20 cricket is going to be played,” Kumble added.

The two wrist spinners in Kumble’s side are Shreyas Gopal and Imran Tahir. Purple cap holder Kagiso Rabada (25 wickets) and India’s Jasprit Bumrah complete his fast bowling department.

Anil Kumble’s best XI of IPL 2019: David Warner, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (wk & c), Hardik Pandya, Andre Russell, Shreyas Gopal, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah.