No one lost the final,says Kiwi skipper Kane Williamson

By: KSW Staff

Arjun Tendulkar bowls to England batsman at Lords
After countering Archer & co,Imam ul Haq ready for Mitchell Starc battle
Kane Williamson breaks World Cup record
Kane Williamson.Pic ICC Twitter

He is turning into original gentleman of the gentleman’s game and he is New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson who saw his side being denied the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 crown despite not losing the final. That is how rules are and the skipper himself has been quoted as saying that ‘no one lost the final’.

In an interview with Newstalk ZB Kane was quoted as saying that no one lost the final, as host England were crowned champions on the basis of superior boundary count after both teams were tied in allotted overs as well in super over.

Williamson told Newstalk ZB, “At the end of the day nothing separated us, no one lost the final, but there was a crowned winner and there it is”.

Widely praised for the grace with which he and his side accepted the defeat, Williamson said they had signed up to the rules that governed the tournament.

Even in the post final press conference Kiwi skipper didn’t criticize rule and said it is what it is.

“I suppose you never thought you would have to ask that question and I never thought I would have to answer it (smiling),” Williamson had said in post match press conference on Sunday.

 “While the emotions are raw, it is pretty hard to swallow when two teams have worked really, really hard to get to this moment in time.

“When sort of two attempts to separate them with a winner and a loser it still doesn’t perhaps sort of shine with one side coming through, you know,” Williamson, one of the finest gentleman playing the sport, said.

COMMENTS

DISQUS: 0