Saurashtra scripts Ranji Trophy 2019-20 title

KSW Desk

Ranji Trophy: KSCA mulling to shift JK-Karnataka quarter-final out of Jammu
Social media reports on Yasir Shah’s death fake, no official confirmation
Abdul Samad confident of doing well in upcoming IPL
Saurashtra celebrating a wicket. File Pic

Srinagar, March 13: Saurashtra on Friday afternoon scripted the Ranji Trophy 2019-20 title by defeating Bengal in the finals.

After putting on a comfortable total of 425 runs in the first innings, Saurashtra was kept on toes as Bengal fought back tremendously beore losing the control this morning.

Chatterjee, Saha and Majumdar struck fifties, however, Saurashtra bowlers made sure to not let them convert these to big scores.

Earlier, Arpit Vasadava highlighted the hosts’ first innings, scoring a gutsy hundred. While for Bengal, Akash Deep scalped a four-for.

Jaydev Unadkat, Saurashtra skipper, after lifting the trophy said, “I still remember my words (last year) and I remember telling you that the brand of cricket we are playing will continue for a few more years and we will win the title sooner than later. We’ve won the trophy for the first time in 73 years and I couldn’t be happier. This is our fourth final in the last eight years and it shows the brand of cricket we’ve played.”