Wade,Siddle,Pattinson,Bancroft return as Australia bat first in Ashes opener

KSW Monitoring Desk

Wahab Riaz not satisfied with number of matches he has played in 12 years
Shoaib Akhtar’s Perth spell from 1999 fastest of my career,says Australia legend Ricky Ponting
Azhar Ali satisfied with Pakistan performance in Test series
Wade,Siddle,Pattinson,Bancroft return as Australia bat first in Ashes opener .Pic Cricket Australia

Peter Siddle, Matt Wade, James Pattinson and Cameron Bancroft made it to the playing eleven as Australia skipper Tim Paine won the toss and elected to bat first in the opening Ashes Test at Edgbaston.

Siddle edged out Josh Hazlewood for the final fast-bowling spot to form a three-prong pace attack with Victorian James Pattinson and world No.1 Test bowler Pat Cummins.

The Australians arrived at Edgbaston this morning without knowing the final XI, before one last look at the pitch by coach Justin Langer and national selector Trevor Hohns convinced them to give Siddle the nod over Hazlewood.

Bancroft leapfrogs incumbent opener Marcus Harris at the top of the order to partner David Warner, who with Bancroft and Steve Smith will play his first Test since Cape Town in March 2018.

Wade was the final selection piece to fall into place. The 31-year-old will play as a specialist batsman at No.6 having last played Test cricket in Bangladesh in September 2017. He earned his recall by piling on runs in domestic cricket and for Australia A in the preceding tour of England.

England – Rory Burns, Roy, Root(c), Joe Denly, Jos Buttler, Stokes, Bairstow(w), Moeen Ali, Woakes, Stuart Broad, Anderson

Australia – Warner, Bancroft, Khawaja, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Matthew Wade, Tim Paine(w/c), James Pattinson, Pat Cummins, Siddle, Lyon.