16.5 C
Monday, March 20, 2023

Gani Memorial Club lifts Javaid Memorial cricket Tournament title

Srinagar: Gani Memorial Cricket Club emerged as...

WATCH: SUPERMAN Steve Smith’s ‘catch of the century’ leave all stunned

Srinagar: Australia outplayed India in the second...

All India 13th Gufran Memorial T20 Cricket Championship 2017 commences 

LocalAll India 13th Gufran Memorial T20 Cricket Championship 2017 commences 

Doda, July 01: The prestigious All India 13th Gufran Memorial T20 Cricket Championship 2017 commence today at Sports Stadium Doda which was organized by Young Star Cricket Club Doda and sponsored by Rashtriya Rifles Battalion Doda. gufran

The tournament was inaugurated by Chief Guest Commanding Officer 10RR Col Mirtunge Upadhya (Sena Madal) along with Assistant Commissioner Development Qazi Akhtar Hussain, ACR Doda Tariq Hussain Naik, 2IC 76 Bn CRPF, Principal GMHSS Doda Om Parkash Chandail, Dy SP DAR Nazir Ahmed Ganai whereas Chairman Gufran Zaheer Abass Hashmi, Advisor Dr Tariq Masood, Asif Jahan Gattu, Mohd Hanief Shah, Zaffarullah and Shahdab Suharwardy were also present in the inaugural ceremony.

Speaking on the occasion, CO 10 RR called upon the youth of J&K particularly Chenab region to participate in sports activities whole heartedly and said that there is no dearth of talent among the youth of this region, adding that there is the need of hour to channelize their talent in the right direction. He also appreciated the efforts of Young Star Cricket Club Doda for organizing such mega event saying that this would provide a platform to the interested youth in the sports to show their hidden talent added that Indian Army is committed to provide platform to the youth to show cause their hidden talent.

The first inaugural match was played between Rising Star Udhampur and Asraria Cricket Club Kishtwar.

Earlier after winning the toss Rising Star Udhampur opted to bat first and while batting they scored a total of 136 runs for the loss of 09 wickets in alloted 20 overs. Saksham Sharma scored 32 runs while Reshav Sharma scored 26 runs for his team. From RS Udhampur, Haroon and Jahangir shared 02 wickets each.

In reply, ACC Kishtwar managed to chase down the stipulated target in 18.4 overs by the loss of 08 wickets. Hanan Malik was the highest scorer from ACC Kishtwar who contributed 54 runs for the team whereas Suhail scored 17 runs. From RS Udhampur, Vinod, Saksham and Himanshu shared 02 wickets each.

Later on Hanan Malik of ACC Kishtwar was declared as Man of the Match for his best batting performance.

The match was officiated by Munish Zutshi and Ifroz Rather as Umpires while Waseem Raja Butt acted as Scorer.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles