6.5 C
Wednesday, November 30, 2022

Inter-Polytechnic T20 cricket tournament inaugurated at KGP

Srinagar: The Inter-Polytechnic T20 cricket tournament was...

Rauf Tramboo is new President of Winter Games Association J&K

Srinagar: The well known adventure sports promoter...

Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman headline ICC player of the month nomination

CricketBabar Azam, Fakhar Zaman headline ICC player of the month nomination
Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman headline ICC player of the month nomination. Pic/Twitter
Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman headline ICC player of the month nomination. Pic/Twitter

Dubai , May 5: With some stellar performance during South Africa series , Pakistan skipper Babar Azam and opener Fakhar Zaman are headlining the ICC player of the nomination that was announced by ICC on Wednesday .

ICC on Wednesday announced the nominees for April’s ICC Player of the Month Awards to recognise the best performances from both male and female cricketers across all forms of international cricket.

ICC Men’s Player of the Month Nominees for April: Babar Azam (Pakistan), Khushal Bhurtel (Nepal), Fakhar Zaman (Pakistan)

ICC Women’s Player of the Month Nominees for April: Alyssa Healy (Australia), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Megan Schutt (Australia)

Fans can now vote on www.icc-cricket.com/awards for their favourite players of the month for April.

In the month of April, Pakistan captain Babar Azam became the No.1 ranked batsman in the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s ODI Player Rankings, ending India captain Virat Kohli’s long reign at the top of the charts.

Babar’s match-winning 82-ball 94 in the third ODI against South Africa helped him gain 13 rating points to reach a career-best 865 points. He also contributed 122 from 59 balls in Pakistan’s successful chase in the third match of a T20I series against the same opposition.

His compatriot Fakhar Zaman also produced a stellar showing during the month, scoring two centuries in the ODI series victory over South Africa, including a magnificent 193 in the second match in Johannesburg.

Completing the men’s shortlist, Nepal’s Khushal Bhurtel was the leading run-scorer as his team won a tri-series also featuring the Netherlands and Malaysia. His significant contribution with the bat totalled 278 runs, including four half-centuries in five matches.

Australia’s Alyssa Healy played three ODIs versus New Zealand, scoring 155 runs at an average of 51.66 and a strike rate of 98.72. Her efforts saw her finish as the leading run-scorer in Australia’s series victory over New Zealand that extended their record-winning streak to 24 ODIs.

Her teammate Megan Schutt became Australia’s leading wicket-taker in the same series, taking seven wickets at an average of 13.14.

New Zealand’s Leigh Kasperek played two ODIs against Australia, achieving career-best figures of six for 46 in the second match of the series, and followed this up with three more wickets in the final match, finishing with nine wickets at an average of 7.77.

How to Vote

The three nominees for either category are shortlisted based on on-field performances and overall achievements during that month (the first to the last day of each calendar month).

This shortlist is then voted on by the independent ICC Voting Academy* and fans around the world. The ICC Voting Academy comprises prominent members of the cricket family including senior journalists, former players, broadcasters, and some members of the ICC Hall of Fame.

The Voting Academy will submit their votes by email and retain a 90 per cent share of the vote. Additionally, fans registered with the ICC will be able to vote via the ICC website once the shortlisted players are announced and will have a 10 per cent share of the vote. Winners will be announced every second Monday of the month on the ICC’s digital channels.

ICC Voting Academy for ICC Player of the Month April 2021

Afghanistan: Hameed Qayoomi and Javed Hamim; Australia: Melinda Farrell and Lisa Sthalekar; Bangladesh: Tarek Mahmoud and Mohammad Isam’ England: Elizabeth Ammon and Claire Taylor; Ireland: Ian Callender and Isobel Joyce; India: Annesha Ghosh and VVS Laxman’ New Zealand: Mark Geenty and John Wright; Pakistan: Faizan Lakhani and Ramiz Raja; South Africa: Firdose Moonda and Makhaya Ntini; Sri Lanka: Neville Victor Anthony and Russel Arnold; West Indies: Ian Bishop and Merissa Aguilleira; Zimbabwe: Tristan Holme and Mpumelelo Mbangwa; Others: Paul Radley and Dirk Nannes.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles