3.8 C
Friday, February 3, 2023

Bumrah has to decide what he wants; Short formats or Test Cricket: Australia legend

Srinagar: Former Australia legend Jeff Thomson has...

‘Shaheen Shah Afridi and Ansha wedding today’

Srinagar: It is season of weddings in...

BCCI stays silent on Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma’s absence from New Zealand T20Is

CricketBCCI stays silent on Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma's absence from New Zealand T20Is

Srinagar: The heat has further gone up surrounding the future of star players Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma in Team India squad after BCCI kept two star batters out of upcoming T20 series against New Zealand.

There have been reports circulating prior to the announcement of the squad that BCCI is contemplating on keeping Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma out of T20 plans.

With team announced and BCCI giving no explanation on the omission of Kohli and Rohit from the squad, there us huge uproar on social media.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday night revealed the squad for the impending white-ball series against New Zealand and for the first two Test matches against Australia. The selectors picked a 16-member squad for both the series against New Zealand where India will play three ODIs and as many T20Is. Among the notable absentees were KL Rahul, from both the squads and Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma from the T20Is.

BCCI release explained the reason behind Rahul not being picked, but revealed on information on why Kohli and Rohit were missing out.

KL Rahul & Axar Patel were unavailable for the New Zealand Home series due to family commitments,” read the BCCI statement that was released on Friday.

It also mentioned the reason behind all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja’s absence from the two Tests against Australia in the Border-Gavaskar series. “Jadeja’s inclusion in the squad is subject to fitness,” it added.

However, there were no mention of Kohli and Rohit, who are both presently part of the ODI series against Sri Lanka. BCCI secretary Jay Shah has also remained tightlipped on their absence.

Earlier last month, a PTI report, before the announcement of the T20I squad for the Sri Lanka series at home, had mentioned that India will name only specialists for the format implying that players like Kohli will be given a break from T20Is.

India will play only two more T20I series this year – both away contests against West Indies in July-August and Australia after the ODI World Cup.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles