Delhi bowlers, Pant dismantle J&K | Kashmir Sports Watch  

Delhi bowlers, Pant dismantle J&K

Inter-district Tourney: All-around Imran Haji and Nasir Lone power Bandipora ‘A’ to win
NIFF hits out at JKFA for banning players, officials
Premier League: Novelty FC trounce Sports Council-XI

An all-round Delhi completed a comfortable eight-wicket win over Jammu and Kashmir in the first game of the North Zone leg of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy all-India Twenty20 tournament on Friday (January 12) at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in New Delhi. Punjab take on Haryana in the afternoon game at the same venue.Pawan-Negi

A disciplined bowling performance, followed by a Rishabh Pant half-century handed Delhi an eight-wicket win and consigned Jammu and Kashmir to their third straight loss of the tournament.

Set a paltry target of 101, Delhi chased it down in just 11.3 overs, courtesy a 77-run opening stand between Pant and Sarthak Ranjan.

Pant smashed a 33-ball 51, with seven fours and two sixes, before he was sent back by Parveez Rasool, who also accounted for Ranjan (31 off 20) in the same over.

However, Rasool’s strikes came too late, and Himmat Singh and Lalit Yadav knocked off the remaining runs.

Put in, J&K were off to a shocker, as they lost their openers on nought. Ahmed Bandy was out on the penultimate ball of the first over off Pradeep Sangwan. Navdeep Saini struck in the next over, accounting for Jatin Wadhawan. Ian Chauhan then became Saini’s second victim, leaving J&K tottering at 15 for 3 in the sixth over.

Rasool (37 off 26), the captain, and Pranav Gupta, the No. 3 batsman, put on a partnership of 49 for the fourth wicket. But once Kulwant Khejroliya had Gupta, caught by Sangwan for 22 in the 15th over, and Pawan Negi struck twice in the next, for the wickets of Rasool and Manzoor Dar, it was another procession.

Waseem Raza (11) was the only other batsman to score in double digits, with J&K only managing 100 for 9 in their 20 overs.

Negi was the star bowler for Delhi, finishing with 3 for 27, while Sangwan, Saini and Khejroliya shared seven wickets among them.