21.3 C
Srinagar
Wednesday, August 17, 2022

Fakhar Zaman, Naseem Shah star in Pakistan’s 16-run win over Netherlands

Rotterdam: Pakistan joined Afghanistan in third place...

JKCA Sr Multi-Day FINAL: Abid, Shubham, Nasir, Suryansh steal show on day one

Here's what unfolded on day one of JKCA Senior Multi-Day FINAL

Moeen Ali smashes 28-ball 52 to power Birmingham Phoenix to comfortable win

Srinagar: Skipper Moeen Ali smashed 28-ball 52...

Former New Zealand Cricketer says Switch Hit should be banned completely

CricketFormer New Zealand Cricketer says Switch Hit should be banned completely

Srinagar: Former New Zealand star Cricketer has said that Switch Hit should be banned banned completely.

Ever since tbe emergence of innovative stroke of Switch Hit in the cricket arena their has been the debate over its legitimacy. Different players have voiced different views.

Joining the growing debate former New Zealand Cricketer Scott Styris have asked for complete ban on tbe stroke.

Speaking on SPORTS18’s daily sports news show ‘Sports Over The Top’, Styris said: “Well, I sort of gotta go back half a step here. I loved a lot of the points that Ashwin made. I completely disagreed with all his solutions. I actually think even though we just had some fun with the switch hit, I think the switch hit should be banned completely. There are rules for captains and bowlers in terms of where their fieldsmen can be, how many behind point, how many on the leg side, all of these things.”

“So, I don’t think a batsman should be able to change his hands over and I don’t believe he should be able to change his feet. You can play the reverse sweep or the reverse hit if you like but I don’t like this. In terms of the hands, Kevin Pietersen has completely flipped around as a lefthander. If you take away the switch hit, but allow all the reverse sweeps and reverse hits, then I think you don’t have to worry about the LBW law that Ashwin is talking about. And it allows a fair contest between the bowler and the batsman as well,” he added.

As per current MCC Laws, a player cannot be given LBW even if the ball is going onto hit the stumps if it pitches outside leg-stump.

“My question is not whether he can play reverse sweep or not, whether it’s negative bowling strategy or not (bowling outside leg stump), my point is about LBW. It’s unfair that it’s not ruled LBW,” Ashwin had said on his YouTube channel.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles