28.1 C
Thursday, September 21, 2023

Caribbean Premier League celebrate Monster SIXES of Azam Khan 

Srinagar: Pakistan young wicketkeeper batter Azam Khan...

Mitchell Starc, Glenn Maxwell ruled out of first ODI against India 

Srinagar: Australia are yet to recover fully...

GDC Frisal beat Kashmir University in final to emerge as Yousuf Memorial Cricket tournament champions 

LocalGDC Frisal beat Kashmir University in final to emerge as Yousuf Memorial Cricket tournament champions 

Srinagar: Government Degree College Frisal beat Post Graduate Kashmir University XI in final to emerge out as winners of the  14TH Edition of Yousuf Memorial Inter-College Cricket Tournament 2023.

The final of the 14th Mohammad Yousuf Memorial Cricket Cup was held at Islamia College Cricket Ground on August 4.

Dr. Shiekh Ajaz Bashir, Nodal Principal Kashmir Division Colleges was chief guest on the occasion and he was received by Dr. Khurshid Ahmad Khan Principal ICSC, Srinagar. 

Government Degree College Frisal won the toss and had no hesitation in deciding to bat first. The batters showed no signs of nerves and played delightful drives to put Post Graduates of Kashmir University bowling under pressure. 

Despite losing openers they maintained a good run rate with Faisal Manzoor scoring a brilliant fifty-four of just 26 deliveries. There were solid contributions from Irfan Gulzar 29 & Danish 24. 

The team gave a target of 163 to their opponents in stipulated 20 Overs. Majid Lone was the pick of the bowlers with impressive figures of 4 for 28. 

Once the star batsman Asim Bashir was removed in the third over by Faisal Manzoor, it was going to be tough for University-11 thanks to their heavy reliance on their opener.  They kept losing wickets at regular intervals despite rare guard action by Gowhar Altaf and Ruvail who made 28 and 17 respectively. 

For Government Degree College Frisal, Faisal Iqbal and Bilal Najar took 3 & 2 wickets respectively. Faisal Manzoor was adjudged Man of the match. Asim Bashir got the Man of the series award for his consistent all-round performance. Pertinently, the championship involved 18 teams across the Kashmir Colleges. 

In the post-match hour, there was a prize distribution ceremony with very special dignitaries – Dr. Khurshid Ahmad Khan Principal ICSC Srinagar, Dr. Shah Jahan Wani, Principal GDC FRISAL, Dr. Musavir Ahmad, Director Physical Education Kashmir University, Dr. Ajaz Ahmad Bhat, Controller Examination & HOD Mathematics ICSC, Prof. Majid Staff Secretary ICSC, Deans of Various Faculties, Heads of the Departments, DSWs (Girls & Boys) besides the members of the College Sports Committee. The runner up trophy was presented by Dr. Shah Jahan Wani, Principal GDC FRISAL. Dr. Khurshid A. Khan Principal host college crowned the new champions. The officials and players were individually felicitated as well. 

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles