Islamia College Annual Road Race held, Muzammil Hussain finishes first | Kashmir Sports Watch  

Islamia College Annual Road Race held, Muzammil Hussain finishes first

KSW Desk

District Kupwara wins 3rd T20 Deaf Cricket tourney
Ranji Trophy, JK vs Haryana: Jiyaad Magrey hit on head while fielding
Sheru Classic Power Lifting: Weighing, Competition dates announced

Srinagar, April 23: Muzammil Hussain of B. Com 5th Semester by covering the entire distance of the race in 14:36.02 minutes, finished first in the Annual College Road Race event for the year 2019, organized by the Department of Physical Education, Islamia College of Science and Commerce Srinagar, here on Tuesday.

The race was flagged off jointly by the College Convener and Member Sports Committee Prof. Shamim Ahmad Shamim and Prof. Nasreen Chasti, at 6:00 a.m. sharp from Nishat Crossing. The participant athletes ran via Nishat, Teilbal Fore Shore Road and finished at Duck Park, Srinagar, covering a distance of 05.25 kilometers.

121 students of the college took part in the event and the college staff also played a part in the smooth functioning of the race. Suhail Nisar of B.Com 5th Semester & Ali Mohammad Bhat of 2nd Semester claimed the second and third place with timings of 15:22:09 mins, and 16:38:67 mins respectively.

Aijaz Hussain of the same class claimed 4th place with the timings of 17:05:65 mins and Touseef Ahmad of BBA 2nd Semester bagged the 5th spot with the timings of 17:14:61 mins.

After the culmination of the race, a prize distribution ceremony was held at Duck Park, Garden, at the banks of Dal Lake. The prizes were given away to the first five position holders by the members Sports Committee viz Prof. Shamim Ahmed, Prof. Nasreen Qureshi, Prof. Mohammad Hanif. While talking at the event, they encouraged students to take part in the sports activities in and outside the college.

They insisted the participants involve themselves wholeheartedly in the sports events which are being organized in the College particularly the Inter-Group and Inter-College sports tournaments and adventure activities during the year. After the award cermony, Prof. Hanif presented the vote of thanks.