Jasia to play under Smriti Mandhana in Women’s IPL | Kashmir Sports Watch  

Jasia to play under Smriti Mandhana in Women’s IPL

By: KSW Staff

Noor Din Memorial: KCC Kupwara beat Star Palhallan, book place in semi’s
When I first met MS Dhoni, he said Imran bhai, you are welcome in my room anytime: Imran Tahir
Coronavirus:PCB says no to cricket in Pakistan during Ramadan
File pic of Jasia Akhtar .Pic/KSW

Jasia Akhtar who will be the only Kashmir women cricketer in this year’s Women’s IPL will be playing under the leadership of Smriti Mandhana.

BCCI has announced the names of the players and its captains for the Women’s Indian premier League (IPL) titled Women’s T20 Challenge for 2019.

Jasia who is the only player from J&K to get name in the players selected for the event and would be part of Trailblazers. The Trailblazers would be lead by Smriti Mandhana.

The 2018 edition had just players from England, Australia and New Zealand take part in the first ever Women’s T20 Challenge, played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. This time around, the tournament will also welcome players from Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and the Caribbean, giving it more flavour from around the world.

Each of the teams have a maximum of four foreigners this time around, one lesser from previous year. WV Raman will coach Supernova, who won the one-off game last year, while Trailblazers will be coached by Biju George.

The matches will be played between May 6 and 11 at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur.


Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana (c), Bharti Fulmali, Dayalan Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Harleen Deol, Jasia Akhtar, Jhulan Goswami, R Kalpana, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shakera Selman (WI), Sophie Ecclestone (ENG), Stafanie Taylor (WI), Suzie Bates (NZ), Coach: Biju George

Supernova: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Anuja Patil, Arundhati Reddy, Chamari Athapaththu (SL), Jemima Rodrigues, Lea Tahuhu(NZ), Mansi Joshi, Natalie Sciver(ENG), Poonam Yadav, Priya Punia, Radha Yadav, Sophie Devine(NZ), Taniya Bhatia, Coach: WV Raman

Velocity: Mithali Raj (c), Amelia Kerr (NZ), Danielle Wyatt (ENG), Devika Vaidya, Ekta Bisht, Hayley Matthews (WI), Jahanara Alam (B’DESH), Komal Zhanzad, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sushma Verma, Sushree Dibyadarshini, Veda Krishnamurthy, Coach: Mamta Maben