3.3 C
Wednesday, February 8, 2023

Asia Cup in Dubai is best option, says Abdul Razzaq

Srinagar: Unlike others, former Pakistan all rounder...

WPL: Jasia, Sarla only 2 J&K players in auction list

Srinagar: Just two J&K players made it...

CK Nayudu Trophy: Yawer slams maiden ton, Pundir misses double century

Srinagar, Feb 7: Middle-order batsman Yawer Hassan...

J&K register innings win against Mizoram in Vijay Merchant Trophy

LocalJ&K register innings win against Mizoram in Vijay Merchant Trophy

Srinagar: Jammu and Kashmir registered an inning and 271 run win against Mizoram in the Under-16 Vijay Merchant Trophy match against at Sector-1 Ground, Bhillai today.

Earlier, after conceding a huge lead of 470 runs to J&K in the first innings, Mizoram managed to score 199 runs in the second essay to suffer a crushing defeat by an innings and 271 runs. Manese and Peka scored 38 and 37 runs to the total respectively, while Tetea and Ruatsanga contributed 27 runs each.

For J&K, Left-arm spinner Jeveesh Sharma was the pick of the bowlers, who took 4 wickets by conceding 44 overs in his 29 overs, while Varun Singh Charak bagged 2 wickets. Mudasir Abdullah, skipper Shaurya Manhas and Salman Ahmed Bakshi claimed one wicket each.

Earlier, on day-1, J&K’s talented middle-order batsman Dhruv Sharma had slammed a cracking double century, while opening batsman Arihant had scored a magnificent century in J&K’s huge total of 576/5 in the first innings.

Dhruv scored huge unbeaten 236 runs off 224 balls, studded with 39 delectable boundaries, while Arihant had scored 145 runs off 138 balls with 15 fours and 5 sixes.
Haadi Ibrahim (55) and Varun Singh Charak (48) were other two major contributors.
For Mizoram, Tetea bagged 2 wickets, while
Mala and Rahul had claimed 1 wicket each.
Earlier, in reply to J&K’s huge total of 576 runs, Mizoram bundled out for a paltry total of 106 runs in the first innings with wicketkeeper Valpui top scoring with 59 runs.

For J&K, Varun Singh Charak took 3 wickets while Bilal Mohi Din, Mudasir Abdullah and Jeevesh Gupta bagged 2 wickets each and Haadi Ibrahim claimed one wicket.

The team is being accompanied by former First Class Cricketer Sameer Khajuria as Head Coach; other former First Class Cricketers Vivek Singh and Fayaz Hazare as Manager and Co-Manager respectively; Muzaffar Hussain as Batting Coach; Amit Bargotra as Strength & Conditioning Coach; Sheikh Sohail as Performance/Video Analyst and Amir Hayat Malik as Physio.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles