List of records smashed during Australia-New Zealand epic T20I | Kashmir Sports Watch  

List of records smashed during Australia-New Zealand epic T20I

Harbhajan Singh praises Shahid Afridi for humanitarian work amid Coronavirus outbreak
200 players turn up for Dragon boat trials
Pakistan likely to go with 2 spinners, England to remain unchanged in first Test

The fifth match of the T20I series between New Zealand and Australia at Eden Park, Auckland saw a staggering 488 runs scored in just in 38.5 overs with Australia trumping in an absolute run-feast courtesy D Arcy Short’s 44-ball 76 and David Warner’s 24-ball 59.oz

Here are all the records that were broken/set during the match:

  • Australia completed the highest successful run chase in T20I history chase down 243 runs with seven balls to spare. They finished with 245/5 in 18.5 with handy contributions from Glenn Maxwell (31 off 14) and Aaron Finch (36* off 14). The previous successful chase was by West Indies (236/6) vs South Africa (231/7) in 2015.
  • New Zealand opener Martin Guptill rewrote T20I history en route a record-breaking century. When Guptill scored his 58th run, he overtook Brendon McCullum’s tally of 2140 runs and now has 2188 runs in 73 T20Is. The 31-year-old averages 34.18 with two centuries and 15 fifties.
    Guptill scored a century off 49 deliveries, one less than the previous Kiwi record for fastest T20I century held by former captain McCullum.
  • New Zealand’s Ben Wheeler conceded 64 runs in 3.1 overs, before being taken out of the attack for bowling two waist-high full toss deliveries in the same over. If he had completed the over, he could have got the ignominious record of conceding the most numbers runs in T20Is. The record is 69 runs in 4 overs conceded by Barry McCarthy of Ireland against Afghanistan at Greater Noida in 2017.
  • A total of 32 sixes were hit in the match which equals the most number sixes hit in a single T20I.
  • With his second T20I hundred Guptill joined the likes of McCullum, Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Rohit Sharma, Glenn Maxwell with players with two T20I centuries. Leading the list of most T20I centuries is of course his teammate Colin Munro with three.