3.6 C
Tuesday, November 29, 2022

WATCH: Ruturaj Gaikwad smashes 7 Sixes in an Over

Srinagar: The young Maharastra batter Ruturaj Gaikwad...

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Riyan Parag stars as Assam knockout J&K on way to semi’s

Srinagar: Riyan Parag played sensational knock of...

Ruzaib guides Kashmir Harvard to win over DPS Srinagar

Srinagar: Kashmir Harvard Educational Institute defeated Delhi...

Shahzad, Wahab lock down PCB contracts in spite of poor show

CricketShahzad, Wahab lock down PCB contracts in spite of poor show

Opener Ahmed Shehzad and fast bowler Wahab Riaz are among the 35 players that have been awarded central contracts by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) for year 2017-2018 despite their dismal performances in recent games.Despite poor performance, Shehzad has been promoted from category D to C. — File

Shehzad, who was in category D, has been promoted to category C as more young players, who have yet to make their international debut, are added in the former category.

Umar Akmal has been did not make the cut after being dropped from the international squad earlier this year.

“A number of young players have been awarded central contracts this year keeping in mind that the national teams in all formats will be going through a transitionary period after a number of retirements from last year’s central contract list,” a press release from the PCB said.

The press release claims that contracts were awarded after reviewing the players’ performance, fitness and discipline. The number of players awarded central contracts have also increased from 30 to 35.

The monthly retainers of all players have been increased by 10 per cent increase as per a three year understanding between players and the PCB management.

The details of players that have been awarded central contracts are as following:

Category A

  • Azhar Ali
  • Shoaib Malik
  • Sarfraz Ahmed
  • Yasir Shah
  • Mohammad Hafeez
  • Mohammad Amir

Category B

  • Babar Azam
  • Imad Wasim
  • Asad Shafiq
  • Hasan Ali

Category C

  • Wahab Riaz
  • Rahat Ali
  • Haris Sohail
  • Sami Aslam
  • Shan Masood
  • Sohail Khan
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Junaid Khan
  • Ahmed Shehzad
  • Mohammad Abbas
  • Shadab Khan

Category D

  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Asif Zakir
  • Usama Salahuddin
  • Amir Yamin
  • Usman Shinwari
  • Fahim Ashraf
  • Ruman Raees
  • Imamul Haq
  • Bilal Asif
  • Mir Hamza
  • Umer Amin
  • Mohammad Hasan
  • Mohammad Asghar
  • Mohammad Rizwan

The players were recommended by the Central Contracts Selection Committee comprising Director Cricket Operations, Chairman National Selection Committee, and Pakistan team head coach and approved by Chairman PCB.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles