15 C
Friday, September 22, 2023

Mohammad Hafeez resigns from PCB post just before World Cup team announcement

Srinagar: Adding spice to the scheduled announcement...

Caribbean Premier League celebrate Monster SIXES of Azam Khan 

Srinagar: Pakistan young wicketkeeper batter Azam Khan...

Smith, Starc ruled out as Mitchell Marsh to captain Australia in series vs South Africa

CricketSmith, Starc ruled out as Mitchell Marsh to captain Australia in series vs South Africa

Srinagar: Senior players Steve Smith and Mitchell Starc have been ruled out as Mitchell Marsh will take over Australia’s captaincy for the white-ball tour of South Africa.

Australia are also without the services of Pat Cummins, who is recovering from a fractured wrist that he sustained during the Ashes.

Smith is nursing a tendon injury to his left wrist that will take about four weeks to heal, while Starc has been experiencing groin soreness since his return from the UK.

Both Smith and Starc are expected to be fit in time for Australia’s ODI series against India and the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup. And have been given enough time to rest and recover before the coveted tournament begins.

“The compacted Ashes series and the World Test Championship was a heavy load for the group, and we are taking a conservative approach to the build-up to the World Cup,” national selection panel chair George Bailey said.

“With the World Cup the priority of the squad, it was determined on advice that it was best for Steve (Smith) and Mitchell (Starc) to join the group in India by which time we expect them to be fully fit and available for the Indian ODI series, plus the World Cup warm-up fixture.”

Meanwhile, Cummins is expected to join the team in the later stages of the South Africa tour.

Ashton Turner has replaced Smith in the T20I squad for South Africa, while Marnus Labuschagne and Spencer Johnson have replaced both Smith and Starc in the ODI squad.

The white-ball series comprises three T20Is, followed by five ODIs, and the tour begins on 30 August in Durban and concludes on 17 September in Johannesburg.

30 August: First T20I, Durban 

1 September: Second T20I, Durban 

3 September: Third T20I, Durban

7 September: First ODI, Bloemfontein

9 September: Second ODI, Bloemfontein

12 September: Third ODI, Potchefstroom

15 September: Fourth ODI, Centurion

17 September: Fifth ODI, Johannesburg

Australia T20 squad: Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Adam Zampa

Australia ODI squad: Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Courtesy: ICC

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles