23.2 C
Sunday, October 2, 2022

Virat Kohli returns, Bumrah ruled out as India announce Asia Cup 2022 squad

CricketVirat Kohli returns, Bumrah ruled out as India announce Asia Cup 2022 squad

Srinagar: Former skipper and star batsman Virat Kohli made a return while as frontline pacer Jasprit Bumrah was ruled out as India on Monday announced its 15-member squad for the 2022 Asia Cup.

Rohit Sharma will lead a 15 member squad that was announced by BCCI.

Batters Virat Kohli and KL Rahul both make a comeback, but pacer Jasprit Bumrah was excluded from the squad with a back injury. Pacer Harshal Patel also misses out due to an injury.

Spinners break records aplenty during India’s victory in West Indies

“Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel were not available for selection owing to injuries,” the BCCI stated on Twitter.
“They are currently undergoing rehab at the NCA in Bengaluru. Three players – Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel and Deepak Chahar have been named as standbys.”

In their place, India’s pace group features the impressive left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh, who has retained his place in the side after a string of impactful performances during the West Indies tour.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Avesh Khan were the other two pace options in the squad.

Kohli returns to the side having last featured during India’s tour of England. He was rested for India’s tours of West Indies and the upcoming series against Zimbabwe.

Rahul also made a comeback, having returned to full fitness after a prolonged battle with injury.

With the tournament being held in the UAE, India’s squad featured a strong spin quartet. Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal returned after being rested for the five-match T20I series against the West Indies, and he’ll link up alongside Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin and the youngster Ravi Bishnoi.

India have also selected a host of middle-order power-hitters, with the regulars Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik and Suryakumar Yadav being joined by Deepak Hooda.

The Asia Cup will begin in UAE on 27 August, with India getting their campaign underway on 28 August against arch-rivals Pakistan in Dubai.

India squad: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan

On standby: Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles