Wrong call by umpire 'cost' Chris Gayle his wicket | Kashmir Sports Watch  

Wrong call by umpire ‘cost’ Chris Gayle his wicket

KSW Desk


Domestic cricket will resume when conditions permit: BCCI President to State Associations
IPL: Punjab Kings troll RCB with this shirtless pic of Chris Gayle and Yuzvendra Chahal
The screen grab Mitchell Starc ball to Chris Gayle.

The match marred by multiple below par umpiring mistakes witnessed one grave wrong call that has likely cost West Indian Chris Gayle his wicket during West Indies’ ICC World Cup 2019 match against Australia at Trent Bridge in Nottingham on Thursday.

Gayle was looking in good nick during his short stay at the crease and his 17-ball 21 included four boundaries. However, Gayle’s innings was cut short by left-arm pacer Mitchell Starc, who got rid of him in the fifth over of the Windies chase.

Starc’s yorker trapped Gayle in front of the wicket and he was adjudged LBW by on-field umpire Chris Gaffaney. Gayle asked for the Decision Review System (DRS) to come into play but the ball was hitting the leg stump and the decision was retained.

Television replays showed that before this delivery, Starc had bowled a big no-ball, which the umpire had somehow failed to spot. So if the no-ball had been called by the official, the wicket delivery would have been a free hit and Gayle would have survived.  

Legendary Windies cricketer Michael Holding, who was commentating for the official broadcaster during the match, termed the officiating as atrocious.

“The umpiring level in this match has been atrocious. They are getting intimidated by constant appealing by the (Australian) team,” Holding said.